Tammineni Sitaram elected Andhra Assembly Speaker

Veteran legislator Tammineni Sitaram was on Thursday unanimously elected Speaker of the Andhra Pradesh Assembly.

Sitaram, who has been elected to the Assembly for a sixth term, currently represents Amudalavalasa constituency in Srikakulam district on behalf of the ruling YSR Congress.

Pro-Tem Speaker SVC Appalanaidu announced the election of Sitaram in the House.

Leader of the House Y.S Jaganmohan Reddy and other YSRC MLAs then escorted Sitaram to the Speaker's chair and congratulated him.