YSRC set to win 3 AP council seats in Aug 26 by-poll

The ruling YSR Congress is said to wrest one Andhra Pradesh Legislative Council seat from the opposition Telugu Desam Party in the by-election slated for August 26.

By-election will be held for three seats under the Assembly quota as three sitting MLCs resigned from their posts following their election to the Lower House of the Legislature in the recent polls.

The Election Commission announced the by-election schedule on Thursday.

Of the three that fell vacant, two were held by YSRC and one by TDP.

Given its current strength in the Assembly, the YSRC would win all three seats in the by-election.

However, YSRC would continue to be in minority in the 58-member Upper House of the Legislature as its tally would only go up to nine.

The TDP has 28 members.