BJD candidates, BJP nominee file papers for RS by-poll

Two ruling Biju Janata Dal candidates and one BJP nominee on Monday filed their nomination papers for the by-election to the three vacant Rajya Sabha seats of Odisha.

While BJD's Amar Patnaik and Sasmit Patra filed their nomination papers for two Rajya Sabha seats in presence of party president and Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik, BJP candidate Ashwini Vaishnab also submitted his papers with the returning officer.

The chief minister had earlier named BJD's IT Cell Chairman & spokesperson Amar Patnaik and spokesperson Sasmit Patra as the regional party candidates for the by-polls to the two Rajya Sabha seats.

The BJD president had also announced his party's decision to support BJP candidate and former bureaucrat Ashwini Vaishnab for the third vacant seat from Odisha.

The three seats fell vacant after BJD's Achyuta Samanta, Pratap Keshari Deb and Soumya Ranjan Patnaik resigned from Rajya Sabha after being elected to Lok Sabha and State Assembly in the recently concluded general elections.