M'shtra MLC polls may be unopposed as BJP's extra nominee withdraws

Prithviraj Deshmukh of BJP withdrew his nomination as the sixth candidate of the party for the July 16 Legislative Council polls, paving the way for the unopposed election to 11 seats that are falling vacant.

July 9 was the last date of withdrawal of the nomination papers.

A BJP leader said the party had asked Deshmukh to withdraw his candidature to ensure that the elections become unopposed.

The BJP had brought in Deshmukh, a party leader from Sangli in western Maharashtra, after state Animal Husbandry Minister Mahadeo Jankar filed his nomination papers as a candidate of his Rashtriya Samaj Paksh (RSP), a constituent of the BJP-led state government.

Apart from Jankar, the BJP had announced candidature of Vijay Girkar, Ram Patil Ratolikar, Ramesh Patil and Nilay Naik.

The elections to 11 seats became necessary as the sitting MLCs are retiring on July 27.

Elections, if needed, will be held on July 16.