35% polling recorded in Odisha till 1 pm

An estimated 35 per cent of the 95.06 lakh voters exercised their franchise till 1 pm during fourth and final phase of simultaneous polling on Monday in six Lok Sabha and 41 assembly constituencies of Odisha, a poll official said.

Polling is not being held in Patkura assembly seat, where voting will be held on May 19 following the death of the BJD candidate.

Long queues were seen outside the polling stations before voting commenced at 7 am.

However, technical glitches in EVMs delayed polling in around 60 booths where voting got under way after the snags were rectified, the official said.

Elaborate arrangements are in place to ensure free and fair polling in the six Lok Sabha constituencies of Mayurbhanj, Balasore, Bhadrak, Jajpur, Kendrapara and Jagatsinghpur and the 41 assembly seats that come under them, he said.