RS by-polls: BJP wins 2 seats unopposed in Gujarat

New Delhi: BJP nominees Dineshchandra Anavadiya and Rambhai Mokariya were declared elected unopposed to the Rajya Sabha from Gujarat as the Opposition Congress did not field candidates for the two vacant seats, one of which was held by its veteran leader Ahmed Patel.

The two seats had fallen vacant following the demise of the sitting MPs belonging to the Congress and the BJP.

One of the seats was held by veteran Congressman Ahmed Patel since 1993 till his death on November 25 last year due to complications related to Covid-19.

The other seat fell vacant as BJP's Abhay Bharadwaj, a first time MP elected to the RS in 2019, too, died on December 1 due to the coronavirus infection.