TMC continues to add glitz and glamour to poll arena

Continuing with her penchant for bringing in silver screen personalities to politics, Trinamool Congress supremo Mamata Banerjee has fielded five film stars, including two greenhorns, for the coming Lok Sabha elections.

In the 2014 general elections, Mamata had fielded the same number of cinestars and all the five had won.

It was Mamata who had in 2009 started the practice of fielding people from the glamour world in West Bengal elections, which was considered to be the forte of southern states.

Of the 42 Lok Sabha constituencies in West Bengal, the TMC had won 19 seats in 2009 and 34 in 2014.

The party also adds a dash of colour to major public meetings, where celebrities from the film and television world assemble.

Fielding of Mimi Chakraborty, a popular actress in Bengali cinema and a political greenhorn, from the prestigious Jadavpur constituency for the 2019 elections has come as a surprise to many.

Another political greenhorn and Bengali film actor Nusrat Jahan has been fielded from Basirhat in North 24 Parganas district, a seat now held by TMC's Idris Ali.

Mamata has said Idris Ali will contest in an Assembly by-election.

Apart from these two, actors and sitting MPs Deepak Adhikari, Satabdi Roy and Munmum Sen will also contest.

While Deepak and Roy would seek re-election from Ghatal and Birbhum seats respectively, Munmum has been shifted from Bankura to Asansol, which was won by singer-turned-politician Babul Supriyo of the BJP.

The TMC has dropped sitting MPs Tapas Pal and Sandhya Roy, well-known film stars of yesteryears.