Vaiko, Anbumani elected unopposed to RS from TN

Six candidates, including MDMK chief Vaiko and PMK's Anbumani Ramadoss, were on Thursday elected unopposed in the biennial elections to Rajya Sabha from Tamil Nadu.

Returning Officer and Secretary, Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly Secretariat, K, Srinivasan, announced that Vaiko, DMK's M. Shanmugam and P. Wilson, AIADMK's N . Chandrasekaran and A. Mohammedjan, and Ramadoss were elected unopposed.

For the six vacancies from Tamil Nadu, there were seven valid nominations. One of them -- DMK's backup candidate N.R Elango -- was withdrawn, he said adding that it left six nominees in the fray for as many vacancies.

As per the provisions of the Representation of People's Act and other relevant rules, they were elected unopposed, he said.

Srinivasan handed over the certificate of election to them.