K. Sreekumar elected as mayor of T'puram Corporation

LDF candidate K. Sreekumar has been elected as Mayor of the Thiruvananthapuram Corporation.

Sreekumar, who was serving as health standing committee chairman, won 42 votes while his nearest contender BJP's M.R Gopan secured 35 votes.

The mayor election was necessitated after the incumbent V.K Prasanth was elected to the assembly from the Vattiyoorkavu seat.

UDF fielded its parliamentary party leader D. Anil Kumar. Only one year is left for the council. The seat tally in the corporation is as follows: LDF- 43, BJP- 35, UDF- 21, independent- 1