LDF, UDF nominees set to get elected to RS from Kerala

All three official nominees of the ruling LDF and opposition UDF are set to be elected to the Rajya Sabha from Kerala unopposed, after the nomination of the lone independent candidate in the fray was rejected, officials said.

The nomination of K. Padmarajan was rejected as some documents required to be filed were not submitted.

With this, decks have been cleared for the election of CPI(M)'s Elamaram Kareem, CPI's Binoy Viswam, both candidates of the Left Democratic Front, and Jose K. Mani of the Kerala Congress.

The official announcement of their election would be made on Wednesday, the last date for the withdrawal of nominations, sources said.

Polling for the biennial election for three Rajya Sabha seats from the state is scheduled for June 21, but it looks unlikely now.