High Court orders to conduct RS election within May 2

Kochi: The Rajya Sabha elections to replace the three MPs from Kerala should be conducted before the results are announced on May 2.

The court also made it clear that the current members of the legislative assembly will have the right to vote.

Three MPs from Kerala - Abdul Wahab (IUML), K.K Ragesh (CPI(M)) and Vayalar Ravi (Congress) will retire on April 21.

In their pleas, the State Legislative Assembly and ruling CPI(M) in the state, challenged the EC's decision to keep in abeyance proceedings for the proposed election to three vacancies from the state in the Rajya Sabha.