Article 370 revoked, bifurcates J&K into 2 UTs

In a staggering move on Monday, the BJP-led Government at the Centre scrapped Article 370 giving special status to Jammu and Kashmir and bifurcated the border state into two separate Union Territories – one for Ladakh without a Legislative Assembly, and another for Jammu and Kashmir with a legislative assembly with curtailed powers.

The Centre’s announcement follows a massive security build-up in the border state and government advisories asking pilgrims to Amarnath Yatra and tourists to leave Kashmir immediately.

The State remains on edge with all the top political leadership – former chief ministers Mehbooba Mufti, Omar Abdullah, Farooq Abdullah and others – having been placed under house arrest late on Sunday night and internet services to the State have been snapped.

Home Minister Amit Shah made the stunning announcement while introducing two statutory resolutions in the Rajya Sabha  – the first which abrogated Article 370 and the second that bifurcated the State and created two separate Union Territories.