BJP sets new record for highest victory margin in 5 seats in Delhi

The BJP which swept all the seven seats in Delhi, set new records in five constituencies where its candidates defeated their opponents with the highest margins ever.

Parvesh Verma, the sitting MP from the West Delhi constituency, won a second term with a record-breaking margin of 5.78 lakh votes. The runner-up, Congress's Mahabal Mishra, got 2,87,162 votes.

Parvesh broke his own record for the highest victory margin in Delhi.

In 2014, he had trounced his closest rival, Jarnail Singh of the AAP, by a margin of 2,68,586 votes.

The BJP candidate from the Northwest Delhi (reserved) seat, Hans Raj Hans, clobbered his closest rival, Gugan Singh of the AAP, with an emphatic margin of 5,53,075 votes, a record in the constituency.

The singer-turned-politician got 8,48,663 of the total 14,02,962 votes, while Gugan could garner only 2,94,766.

Cricketer-turned-politician and BJP candidate from East Delhi, Gautam Gambhir, overwhelmed Arvinder Singh Lovely of the Congress by a record margin of 3,91,222 votes.

Gambhir polled 6,96,156 votes against 3,04,934 garnered by Lovely.

The saffron party's Gujjar face from South Delhi, Ramesh Bidhuri, hammered first-timer Raghav Chadha of the AAP by 3,67,043 votes, a record in the seat.

In 2014, he had won the seat by 1,07,000 votes.

The BJP's Delhi unit chief Manoj Tiwari clinched the Northeast Delhi seat, defeating three-time chief minister Sheila Dikshit by a record margin of 3,66,102 votes.

Only Union minister Harsh Vardhan and BJP leader Meenakashi Lekhi won their respective seats by a margin lesser than the 2014 record.

Meenakashi, the sitting MP from the New Delhi seat, secured a second term, defeating veteran Congress leader Ajay Maken by 2,56,504 votes.

Harsh Vardhan, the party's Chandi Chowk candidate, had the lowest winning margin in the city at just 2, 28,145 lakh votes.