16 disqualified Karnataka MLAs join BJP

A day after the Supreme Court upheld the disqualification of 17 Congress-JD(S) MLAs in Karnataka but paved the way for them to contest the December 5 by-polls, 16 disqualified MLAs took membership the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Thursday.

All disqualified MLAs, with the exception of former Shivajinagar MLA Roshan Baig, were inducted into the BJP during a ceremony held at the party's office in Bengaluru.

Fifteen constituencies will go to polls next month, with the exception of RR Nagar and Maski constituencies.

The politicians were disqualified by the former Karnataka Speaker K.R Ramesh Kumar in July.

The disqualifications of these MLAs paved the way for BJP to form the government in Karnataka in July. On Wednesday, the Supreme Court upheld the disqualifications of the MLAs but allowed the MLAs to contest in the by-elections.