Jagan Mohan Reddy takes oath as Andhra Pradesh CM

NEW DELHI: Jagan Mohan Reddy took oath of office and secrecy at a grand public function at the IGMC Stadium in nearby Vijayawada, becoming the second chief minister of Andhra Pradesh after its bifurcation. Mr Reddy was administered the oath by Governor ESL Narasimhan at 12:23 pm.

46-year-old Jagan led his party to a resounding victory in the recent Assembly and Lok Sabha elections. The YSR Congress won 151 of the 175 seats in the state Assembly, decimating the TDP headed by N Chandrababu Naidu, who became the first chief minister of the state after it was bifurcated to carve out Telangana five years ago. YSRC won 22 of the 25 Lok Sabha seats.

Telugu Desam Party (TDP) chief N Chandrababu Naidu has turned down invitation to attend Jagan Mohan Reddy's swearing-in ceremony, news agency has reported.

Telangana Chief Minister K Chandrasekhara Rao and DMK president MK Stalin were among the dignitaries who attended the swearing-in ceremony.