25.6% voting till noon in Bihar

Bihar recorded 25.6 per cent voting in five Lok Sabha seats till noon on Thursday amidst reports of EVM malfunctioning and poll boycott delaying the start of polling in some booths.

Banka recorded the highest turnout at 28 per cent followed by 26.2 per cent in Kishanganj, 25.5 per cent in Purnea, 25 per cent in Katihar and 23 per cent in Bhagalpur, an election official said.

Altogether 86.01 lakh voters are eligible to exercise their franchise to elect 68 candidates in the second phase of polling.

Voting was delayed due to EVM malfunctioning at a polling station at Masuria in Banka town, two polling booths under Kahalgaon assembly segment in Bhagalpur, and another two booths in Purnea.