Bangladesh Announces T20I Squad For Third And Fourth Match Of Tri-Series

Bangladesh included Mohammad Naim and Aminul Islam Biplob, the two uncapped players, in the 15-member T20I squad for the third and fourth match in ongoing tri-series. In the tri-series, Bangladesh has played two matches and has won one against Zimbabwe. Another one they lose against Afghanistan.

Bangladesh is struggling to find a combination of players with which they can beat Afghanistan players. So left-handed opener Mohammad Naim has been included. He has played 32 List A match and has shown better performance. So selectors are giving him a chance in T20I.

Next is the batting all-rounder Aminul Islam Biplob who has played 19 List A cricket and has replaced Soumya Sarkar from the team. The 19-year-old has little experience in domestic cricket but has impressed everyone in a short period. Selectors have included him in Bangladesh team.

'We picked Naim Shaikh as he is one of our future prospects. He is playing well for quite some time and we feel it is the right time to see how he handles the pressure of international cricket,' chief selector Minhajul Abedin told Cricbuzz

'Our coach wants a leg spinner badly so felt that we can have a look at Biplob as he had improved his leg-spin remarkably recently.'

Nazmul Hossain Shanto, who has already played ODI and Tests for the team, is now looking for his T20I debut. Pacers Rubel Hossain and Shafiul Islam also make the returns in the T20 setup. Minhajul added that the head coach Rusell Domingo feels the need of fast bowler against Afghanistan.

Bangladesh in their last match against Afghanistan on Sunday (15th September) faced defeat in front of the bowlers. Afghanistan won the match by 25 runs. Next match of Bangladesh is on 18th September against Zimbabwe and on 21st September against Afghanistan.

Squad: Shakib Al Hasan (C), Mushfiqur Rahim (WK), Mahmudullah, Sabbir Rahman, Mosaddek Hossain, Liton Das, Afif Hossain, Taijul Islam, Rubel Hossain, Shafiul Islam, Mustafizur Rahman, Mohammad Saifuddin, Mohammad Naim Shaikh, Aminul Islam, Najmul Hossain