Beuran Hendricks in CSA's national contracts for 2020-21

Veteran pacer Dale Steyn has been excluded from Cricket South Africa's national contracts for the 2020-21 season even as left-arm seamer Beuran Hendricks was included in the 16-member list.

The 36-year-old Steyn had made a comeback in February after being laid low by injury in the last three years, hoping to be a part of the ICC Men's T20 World Cup in Australia in October.

The South African board, however, showed faith in the young players, awarding contract upgrades to young fast bowler Anrich Nortje, all-rounder Dwaine Pretorius and batsman Rassie van der Dussen -- who played more matches last season.

Former skipper Faf du Plessis has also been offered a new contract by the board, suggesting he will be an important member of the team which has a busy summer, which includes home Tests against Sri Lanka and Australia.

In the wake of the COVID-19 pandemic, CSA has currently suspended all forms of cricket in the country for the next two months, including first-class cricket, List A cricket (Momentum Cup), All semi-professional and provincial cricket; as well as All Junior and Amateur cricket.

CSA contracted men's players: Temba Bavuma, Quinton de Kock, Faf du Plessis, Dean Elgar, Beuran Hendricks, Reeza Hendricks, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Rassie van der Dussen

Contracted women's players: Trisha Chetty, Nadine de Klerk, Mignon du Preez, Shabnim Ismail, Sinalo Jafta, Marizanne Kapp, Ayabonga Khaka, Masabata Klaas, Lizelle Lee, Sune Luus, Tumi Sekhukhune, Chloe Tryon, Dane van Niekerk, Laura Wolvaardt.